Home Adaptations for Seniors’ Independence for Homeowners

Provided by: Housing Nova Scotia

View information about this organization

Service Description

Helps homeowners pay for home adaptations so seniors with low incomes can stay in their homes independently for longer periods of time.

A one-time forgivable grant of up to $3,500 is available and does not need to be repaid as long as the homeowner agrees to live in their home for a minimum of 6 months after the adaptations are made.

Home repairs covered include minor items to help with age-related challenges. Some examples include:

  • Handrails in hallways and stairways
  • Easy-to-reach work and storage areas in the kitchen
  • Lever handles on doors
  • Walk-in showers and grab bars
  • Bathtub grab bars and seats

Any adaptations that are made should be permanent. Exceptions can be made for equipment like bath lifts that help to make accessing basic facilities easier. Other aids like walkers and household appliances are not covered.


To qualify for this program:
• You must be at least 65 years old
• You must experience difficulty with daily activities due to your age
• Your total household income is below the established income limit, which varies depending on household size and the area you live in
• You must be an owner and permanent resident of the home that will undergo repair/adaptation

You must submit an application for approval before you can receive funding. Any work that is completed before you have received approval is not eligible to be covered.

Application Process

Contact Housing Nova Scotia

Documents Required



No fees

Languages Offered

English • French-speaking staff available upon request

Coverage Area

Nova Scotia

Housing Nova Scotia – Western Region – Middleton

101 Magee Drive
Middleton NS  B0S 1P0
Get Directions
Mailing Address:
101 Magee Drive
Box 1000
Middleton NS  B0S 1P0

Site Info

Update this listing

Site Hours




Coverage Area

Kings County • Annapolis County • Digby County • Yarmouth County • Shelburne County • Queens County • Lunenburg County